Tag Archives: murder

Release Blitz: Unspeakable Vice by Quinn Wilde

Unspeakable Vice | Quinn Wilde

banner

Release Date: July 21st 2021

Buy Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0994R734X

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/58534919-unspeakable-vice

unspeakablevicecover

Blurb

Oh, where could I put an errant decimal or two in Mr. Brodie?

Murder and blackmail at Oxford University, accompanied with some digestive biscuits, bread, butter, tea, and a dog who is not all he seems.

The year is 1895, and grossly indecent acts between men are illegal and punishable by two years’ hard labor.

Sebastian Pope is a student of the classics, a known gadabout and aesthete.

Andrew Brodie is a Scottish clerk, a respectable calculating machine.

The two men could not be more unalike. Yet when a wicked lord and circumstances throw them together, they find that they have one thing in common, namely the same unspeakable vice.

A diverse MM historical romance in the tradition of K. J. Charles and Cat Sebastian with Wildean flare.

quinnwilde

About The Author

If Oscar Wilde and Jane Austen had a literary brainchild, Quinn Wilde fancies they’d be the result. (With a side order of jazz hands.) Quinn writes diverse queer romance, with a focus on the 19th and early to mid-20th century.

Quinn is an unrepentant former theater kid, a lover of black coffee and dark chocolate, and has fallen in love with too many obscure British actors on blurry uploaded YouTube videos to name.

Quinn Wilde also writes as Mary Pagones.

Social Media

Twitter: https://twitter.com/marypagones

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pagones721

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Mary-Pagones-Author-106178421345656

insta

Best one yet in this stunningly brilliant paranormal suspense series

53993608._SY475_

Cry Wolf by Charlie Adhara

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This series from Charlie Adhara is one of my all-time favourites in any genre.

It’s clever, it has a fresh look at werewolves and gives them a fascinating culture which fits perfectly into the urban fantasy world she’s created.

It’s firmly rooted in “our reality” as well, so it has an anchoring feel of the familiar and it has Cooper Dayton, a truly complex character whose evolvement from book one through to this installment, has been utterly enthralling.

I love Coop. I love how much he’s grown as a person while still staying true to his basic character traits of honesty and a lack of artifice, and his fumbling attempts to tell Oliver Park, his werewolf partner in both The Trust and life, how much he means to him are utterly endearing.

Coop is such an enigma, he’s human, but Park’s alpha and yet he submits to Oliver in their intimate moments and oh boy are they seriously good. They are powerfully emotional, scorching hot and just a little bit dirty.

The case they end up involved investigating in Cry Wolf is possibly the best one yet in this series, I had no clue where it was heading and I’m still not sure on some elements of the longer term series long narrative arc which are revealed here.

Ultimately though, it’s a superbly paced, deeply complex one which examines wolf folklore and the differences between the three types of werewolf society more than any of the previous books before.

it involves the packs, the Wolf Independence Party and the Rebels, it pulls in Eli, Oliver’s ex and a former rebel, it gives Coop a role he’s not remotely prepared for, whether he believes it’s true or not, and it – finally – gives the reader a truly joyous relationship development between the two men which had me smiling so much my face hurt.

I am so pleased Charlie went back to this series, there are so many aspects of wolf society still left unexplored and villains galore to continue investigating. I really hope it continues on and on!

#ARC kindly received from the publishers Carina Press via NetGalley in return for an honest and unbiased review

View all my reviews

Exlusive Cover Reveal: Stoker & Bash: The Death Under the Dark Arches by Selina Kray

Today we have an exclusive Cover Reveal for Selina Kray’s third book in the historical mystery investigations series Stoker & Bash, and I’m absolutely thrilled to bring this to you all.

Selina is also having a Celebration Party in her Facebook Group 23 Berkeley Square on Saturday, October 24th with featured guests including RJ Scott, Joanna Chambers, Sara Dobie Bauer, Vicki Locey, Garrett Leigh, Kasia Bacon, and more!

Stoker & Bash: The Death Under the Dark Arches | Selina Kray

Stoker & Bash #3

Stoker & Bash banner

Release Date: October 26th, 2020

Word Count: 114,000 words or approx. 320 pages

Cover Design: Tiferet Design

Buy Links:

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08LDSY61Thttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B08LDSY61T

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08LDSY61T

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/55284457-the-death-under-the-dark-arches

Stoker & Bash 3 HIGHRES

Blurb

Sing a song of sixpence

A stage full of fright

One two-faced blackbird

Won’t last the night

When a phantom presence lures Hieronymus Bash into a deadly game, threatening to kill one of the players at his beloved Gaiety Theater each day until famed actor Horace Beastly returns to the stage, London’s premier consulting detective is on the case.

The trouble? Horace Beastly is Hiero’s alter ego and the true object of this murderous obsession. When the current star of the show is struck down, Hiero has to risk everything by stealing back the spotlight.

After a golden summer together, DI Tim Stoker would do everything in his power to protect the man he loves. But a specter from his own past proves an unexpected, and perhaps fatal, distraction.

Scheming prima donnas, grudge-fuelled critics, and an axe-wielding theater ghost are all out for blood. Will Hiero and Tim unmask this menace before the final curtain call, or are they past the point of no return?

Stoker & Bash teaser

Start the Series

The Fangs of Scavo

Stoker & Bash #1

fangs

Universal Link: https://books2read.com/u/3J0wgg

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37905048-the-fangs-of-scavo

selina author

About The Author

Selina Kray is the nom de plume of an author and English editor. Professionally she has covered all the artsy-fartsy bases, having worked in a bookstore, at a cinema, in children’s television, and in television distribution, up to her latest incarnation as a subtitle editor and grammar nerd (though she may have always been a grammar nerd).

A self-proclaimed geek and pop culture junkie who sometimes manages to pry herself away from the review sites and gossip blogs to write fiction of her own, she is a voracious consumer of art with both a capital and lowercase A.

Selina’s aim is to write genre-spanning romances with intricate plots, complex characters, and lots of heart. Whether she has achieved this goal is for you, gentle readers, to decide. At present she is hard at work on future novels at home in Montreal, Quebec, with her wee corgi serving as both foot warmer and in-house critic.

If you’re interested in receiving Selina’s newsletter and being the first to know when new books are released, plus getting sneak peeks at upcoming novels, please sign up at her website.

Social Media

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Facebook Group

Stoker & Bash insta

« Older Entries