Tag Archives: murder mystery

Release Blitz: The Quid Pro Quo by A.L. Lester

The Quid Pro Quo | A.L. Lester

Bradfield Trilogy #2

Quid Pro Quo banner

Release Date: November 20th, 2021

Publisher: JMS Books

Editor: Lourenza Adlem

Word Count: 50,000 words

Universal Link

Publisher | Author-website

Add to Goodreads

The Quid Pro Quo cover small.

Blurb

Village nurse Walter Kennett is content with his makeshift found-family in tiny Bradfield. However one midsummer morning a body is found floating in the village duck pond, dead by magical means.

Detective Simon Frost arrives in Bradfield to investigate a inexplicable murder. The evidence seems to point to Lucille Hall-Bridges, who lives with doctor Sylvia Marks and nurse Walter Kennett at Courtfield House. Simon isn’t happy—he doesn’t believe Lucy is a murderer but he’s sure the three of them are hiding something. In the meantime, the draw he feels toward Walter takes him by surprise.

Walter is in a dilemma, concealing Sylvia and Lucy’s relationship and not knowing how much to tell Frost about the paranormal possibilities of the murder. He isn’t interested in going to bed with anyone—he’s got a complicated life and has to know someone really well before he falls between the sheets. He’s taken aback by his own attraction to Detective Frost and angry when Frost appears to twist the spark between them to something transactional in nature.

Will Walter be satisfied to stay on the periphery of Lucy and Sylvia’s love affair, a welcome friend but never quite included? Or is it time for him to strike out and embark on  a relationship of his own?

The second in the Bradfield trilogy, set in the Border Magic universe. With a transm/m couple.

Excerpt

As Simon was replacing the device on the telephone table a pretty young woman put her head out of a door at toward the end of the hall. “Sylv!” she said, “Do you want tea? I’ve boiled the kettle.” and then when she realised he wasn’t who she thought he was, “Oh, I do beg your pardon! I thought you were Dr Marks!”.

“She’s still in the surgery,” Simon nodded across the hall.

The woman emerged into the hall. “Lucille Hall-Bridges,” she said, extending a hand. “I’m a friend of Sylvia’s. I help with the house.”

Simon took her hand in his. Her grip was sure and warm. “Detective Frost,” he replied. “Nice to meet you, Miss Hall-Bridges. She had a recent bruise running from her jaw to just below her eye, entering the black-and-purple stage.

“I’ve made a pot of tea,” she was saying. “I don’t know whether anyone will want any, but I do like to feel useful and tea is so…normal-making, isn’t it?”

He nodded, slightly bemused at her chatter. “Yes, indeed,” he said. “Very normal.”

She gave a perfunctory tap on the surgery door, opened it and disappeared inside without waiting for a response. “Sylv, Walter, I’ve made tea. Would you and your detective like to come into the drawing room?” Her voice faded, presumably as she joined them in the examination room.

There was a pause. Then, “Oh!” he heard her say. “Oh.” She sounded a little shocked. “What’s happened to her hands?” she asked.

“Scraped on the bottom on the pond I think,” Simon heard Dr Marks say. “She was face-down in the water.”

“Oh.” Miss Hall-Bridges’ voice was small. “Sylvia…there’s…she’s…I can feel…do you think…?” Her voice trailed off and Dr Marks spoke over her, clearly away they might be overhead.

“Let’s not worry about that now, shall we? The policeman is sending her down to Taunton to a postmortem. You go and take the tea-things into the drawing room. We’ll just cover her up.”

al lester logo

About The Author

Writer of queer, paranormal, historical, romantic suspense, mostly. Lives in the South West of England with Mr AL, two children, a terrifying cat, some hens and the duckettes.

Likes gardening but doesn’t really have time or energy. Not musical. Doesn’t much like telly. Non-binary. Chronically disabled. Has tedious fits.

Facebook Group : Twitter : Newsletter (free story) : Website : Link-tree for everywhere else

quid pro quo release

Release Blitz: A Death in Bloomsbury by David C. Dawson

A Death in Bloomsbury | David C. Dawson

The Simon Sampson Mysteries #1

release-blitz-banner

Release Date: November 10th, 2021

Publisher: Park Creek Publishing

Cover Design: Garrett Leight @ Black Jazz Designs

 Universal Link

Add to Goodreads

a-death-in-bloomsbury-ecover

Blurb

Everyone has secrets… but some are fatal.

1932, London.

Late one December night Simon Sampson stumbles across the body of a woman in an alleyway. Her death is linked to a plot by right-wing extremists to assassinate the King on Christmas Day. Simon resolves to do his patriotic duty and unmask the traitors.

But Simon Sampson lives a double life. Not only is he a highly respected BBC radio announcer, but he’s also a man who loves men, and as such must live a secret life. His investigation risks revealing his other life and with that imprisonment under Britain’s draconian homophobic laws of the time. He faces a stark choice: his loyalty to the King or his freedom.

This is the first in a new series from award-winning author David C. Dawson. A richly atmospheric novel set in the shadowy world of 1930s London, where secrets are commonplace, and no one is quite who they seem.

adib-teaser-5

Excerpt

London, December 1932

The body was buried under a pile of rubbish in the unlit alleyway. Simon would have failed to see it, if it were not for the cat.

That December evening London was shrouded in a thick yellow smog from power stations and the smoke of thousands of coal fires. It was impossible to see more than a few feet in any direction. Simon was late as he hurried down the lower end of Oxford Street. When he came upon the alleyway, he hesitated for only a moment before choosing to take the shortcut.

He had discovered the route during the summer when he had begun working at the BBC’s new wireless studios in Portland Place. It cut several minutes from his semi-regular sojourn to the Fitzroy Tavern on Charlotte Street. On summer evenings it had been a pleasant stroll through the back streets, away from the noise and smell of traffic, and crowds on the main thoroughfare.

But now, in mid-December, the alleyway was dark and forbidding, a much less inviting place to be. The fog deadened the sound of London’s traffic to a low rumble, and the visibility was even worse than in Oxford Street. Simon trod carefully and extended his gloved hands in front of him. It was harder than walking in the dark, because the acrid taste of the fog got into his nose and mouth, and made him cough loudly.

Up ahead he heard muffled voices followed by a thud. The noise was indistinct but threatening. He stopped, and considered turning to go back to Oxford Street. If there was villainy ahead, he wanted no part of it.

Pull yourself together man, he thought. This is Bloomsbury, not Whitechapel.

He resumed his slow trudge along the alleyway, his eyes fixed on the comforting glow of a distant street lamp. Once more he extended his arms to forewarn him of any obstacle ahead.

It was after no more than a few dozen yards that the cat startled him. It emerged from a gap in the wall to his left and hissed. Simon recoiled, his foot slipped on the uneven cobblestones, and he fell backwards onto the ground.

Which was when he saw the hand.

It was a woman’s hand. The long fingers caked in dirt, the red polished nails were chipped. The arm and the rest of the body to which it was attached were covered by several grubby hessian sacks. Simon scrambled to his feet. He brushed down his mohair coat, and leaned against the wall to catch his breath.

From this viewpoint, the protruding hand was not visible beneath the pile of sacks. But Simon knew it was there. He could recall the scratches on the fingers, the cracks in the nail polish. He took a deep breath to prepare himself for what he might find, and crouched down to inspect it more closely. As he did so he gathered the hem of his coat to avoid it coming into contact with the muddy cobblestones. He reached out to the nearest of the sacks and lifted the fabric, taking care to avoid touching whatever might lie beneath.

The hand was indeed attached to an arm. There was a delicate gold bracelet around the wrist, just below the cuff of a fur-trimmed coat. Simon grew bolder and gave the sack a firm flick to remove it.

adib-teaser-4

About the Author

david-d-dawson-headshot

David C. Dawson is an award-winning author, journalist and documentary maker. He writes British gay-themed thrillers featuring gay men in love.

His debut novel The Necessary Deaths, won an FAPA award in the best suspense/thriller category. It’s the first in the Delingpole Mysteries series. The latest: The Foreign Affair, was published last year.

David’s also written two gay romances: For the Love of Luke and Heroes in Love.

He lives near Oxford, with his boyfriend and two cats. In his spare time, he tours Europe and sings with the London Gay Men’s Chorus.

Social Media

Website. https://www.davidcdawson.co.uk/

Amazon author page. https://geni.us/DCDawsonAmazonAuthor

Facebook personal: https://www.facebook.com/david.c.dawson.5

Facebook books page: https://www.facebook.com/pg/davidcdawsonAUTHOR/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7244384.David_C_Dawson

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/davidcdawsonwriter/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/david_c_dawson

adib-teaser-3

Giveaway

To celebrate the release of A Death in Bloomsbury, David is giving away One of 3 backlisted e-books from his catalogue

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

grr-tours-promo

out-now

Release Blitz: Murder Most Actual by Alexis Hall

Murder Most Actual | Alexis Hall

murder-most-actual-banner

Release Date: November 9th, 2021

Kobo Exclusive: https://bit.ly/3EMWSQL

Coming soon to the Libby app

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/39xTqeb

Print

Blurb

When up-and-coming true crime podcaster Liza and her corporate financier wife Hanna head to a luxurious hotel in the Scottish Highlands, they’re hoping for a chance to rekindle their marriage – not to find themselves trapped in the middle of an Agatha Christie-esque murder mystery with no way home.

But who better to take on the case than someone whose entire profession relies on an obsession with all things mysterious and macabre? Though some of her fellow guests may consider her an interfering new media hack, Liza knows a thing or two about crime and – despite Hanna’s preference for waiting out the chaos behind a locked door – might be the only one capable of discovering the killer.

As the bodies rack up and the stakes rise, can they save their marriage — and their lives?

From the author of Boyfriend Material and Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake comes a cozy mystery that revisits the Golden Age of detective fiction, starring a heroine who’s more podcaster than private eye and topped with a lethal dose of parody — perfect for fans of Clue, Knives Out, and Only Murders in the Building!

Alexis Hall loto

About The Author

Alexis Hall is an English author of urban fantasy, science fiction, and M/M romance. His novels include Murder Most Actual, Boyfriend Material, Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake, For Real, Glitterland, Iron & Velvet, Looking for Group, and Pansies.

His work has been nominated for to the 26th Lambda Literary Awards, 28th Lambda Literary Awards, and 29th Lambda Literary Awards in the category of Gay Romance.

Some Upcoming titles:
– Something Fabulous
– Husband Material
– Viola & Gracewood
– Winner Bakes All Series Book #2

Social Media

Website: https://quicunquevult.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/alexishall

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/quicunquevult

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/quicunquevult/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/quicunquevult

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/alexis-hall

Murder Most Actual AN FB

« Older Entries