Tag Archives: London setting

Release Blitz: A Death in Bloomsbury by David C. Dawson

A Death in Bloomsbury | David C. Dawson

The Simon Sampson Mysteries #1

release-blitz-banner

Release Date: November 10th, 2021

Publisher: Park Creek Publishing

Cover Design: Garrett Leight @ Black Jazz Designs

 Universal Link

Add to Goodreads

a-death-in-bloomsbury-ecover

Blurb

Everyone has secrets… but some are fatal.

1932, London.

Late one December night Simon Sampson stumbles across the body of a woman in an alleyway. Her death is linked to a plot by right-wing extremists to assassinate the King on Christmas Day. Simon resolves to do his patriotic duty and unmask the traitors.

But Simon Sampson lives a double life. Not only is he a highly respected BBC radio announcer, but he’s also a man who loves men, and as such must live a secret life. His investigation risks revealing his other life and with that imprisonment under Britain’s draconian homophobic laws of the time. He faces a stark choice: his loyalty to the King or his freedom.

This is the first in a new series from award-winning author David C. Dawson. A richly atmospheric novel set in the shadowy world of 1930s London, where secrets are commonplace, and no one is quite who they seem.

adib-teaser-5

Excerpt

London, December 1932

The body was buried under a pile of rubbish in the unlit alleyway. Simon would have failed to see it, if it were not for the cat.

That December evening London was shrouded in a thick yellow smog from power stations and the smoke of thousands of coal fires. It was impossible to see more than a few feet in any direction. Simon was late as he hurried down the lower end of Oxford Street. When he came upon the alleyway, he hesitated for only a moment before choosing to take the shortcut.

He had discovered the route during the summer when he had begun working at the BBC’s new wireless studios in Portland Place. It cut several minutes from his semi-regular sojourn to the Fitzroy Tavern on Charlotte Street. On summer evenings it had been a pleasant stroll through the back streets, away from the noise and smell of traffic, and crowds on the main thoroughfare.

But now, in mid-December, the alleyway was dark and forbidding, a much less inviting place to be. The fog deadened the sound of London’s traffic to a low rumble, and the visibility was even worse than in Oxford Street. Simon trod carefully and extended his gloved hands in front of him. It was harder than walking in the dark, because the acrid taste of the fog got into his nose and mouth, and made him cough loudly.

Up ahead he heard muffled voices followed by a thud. The noise was indistinct but threatening. He stopped, and considered turning to go back to Oxford Street. If there was villainy ahead, he wanted no part of it.

Pull yourself together man, he thought. This is Bloomsbury, not Whitechapel.

He resumed his slow trudge along the alleyway, his eyes fixed on the comforting glow of a distant street lamp. Once more he extended his arms to forewarn him of any obstacle ahead.

It was after no more than a few dozen yards that the cat startled him. It emerged from a gap in the wall to his left and hissed. Simon recoiled, his foot slipped on the uneven cobblestones, and he fell backwards onto the ground.

Which was when he saw the hand.

It was a woman’s hand. The long fingers caked in dirt, the red polished nails were chipped. The arm and the rest of the body to which it was attached were covered by several grubby hessian sacks. Simon scrambled to his feet. He brushed down his mohair coat, and leaned against the wall to catch his breath.

From this viewpoint, the protruding hand was not visible beneath the pile of sacks. But Simon knew it was there. He could recall the scratches on the fingers, the cracks in the nail polish. He took a deep breath to prepare himself for what he might find, and crouched down to inspect it more closely. As he did so he gathered the hem of his coat to avoid it coming into contact with the muddy cobblestones. He reached out to the nearest of the sacks and lifted the fabric, taking care to avoid touching whatever might lie beneath.

The hand was indeed attached to an arm. There was a delicate gold bracelet around the wrist, just below the cuff of a fur-trimmed coat. Simon grew bolder and gave the sack a firm flick to remove it.

adib-teaser-4

About the Author

david-d-dawson-headshot

David C. Dawson is an award-winning author, journalist and documentary maker. He writes British gay-themed thrillers featuring gay men in love.

His debut novel The Necessary Deaths, won an FAPA award in the best suspense/thriller category. It’s the first in the Delingpole Mysteries series. The latest: The Foreign Affair, was published last year.

David’s also written two gay romances: For the Love of Luke and Heroes in Love.

He lives near Oxford, with his boyfriend and two cats. In his spare time, he tours Europe and sings with the London Gay Men’s Chorus.

Social Media

Website. https://www.davidcdawson.co.uk/

Amazon author page. https://geni.us/DCDawsonAmazonAuthor

Facebook personal: https://www.facebook.com/david.c.dawson.5

Facebook books page: https://www.facebook.com/pg/davidcdawsonAUTHOR/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7244384.David_C_Dawson

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/davidcdawsonwriter/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/david_c_dawson

adib-teaser-3

Giveaway

To celebrate the release of A Death in Bloomsbury, David is giving away One of 3 backlisted e-books from his catalogue

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

grr-tours-promo

out-now

Release Tour: Ghost Light Killer by Dahlia Donovan

Ghost Light Killer | Dahlia Donovan

London Podcast Mystery #2

Ghost Light Killer Banner(1)

Release Date: August 7th, 2021

Publisher: Hot Tree Publishing

Universal Link

Release Price $2.99 for a short time

Add to Goodreads

Ghost light killer_ideas

Blurb

Several months after their first brush with death, Dannel Ortea and Osian Garey are back with a thrilling murder investigation in the second London Podcast Mystery Series novel.

While helping their flamboyant neighbour with his play, Dannel and Osian discover more than a ghost haunting the stage at the Evelyn Lavelle theatre. It’s all fun and games until a friend is found kneeling over a dead body.

Is he the murderer or an unfortunate witness?

When one body turns to two, then to three, will the killer ever be found?

As Dannel and Osian work together to solve the mystery, the murderer focuses on them. Their drive to clear their friend’s name puts them centre stage. But not everything under the glow of the bright lights glimmers.

Will anyone be left when the curtain falls?

with-cover-london-podcast-2

Excerpt

“Are we ready?” Ian sipped his coffee before adjusting his scarf carefully around his neck. He paused when a hideous scream came from inside the theatre. “Oh dear, sounds as though the ghost has struck again.”

Osian exchanged a worried glance with Dannel. “Maybe we should head inside?”

Ian led them into the theatre. They found a crowd gathered backstage in front of a door. “What’s going on? Let me through.”

Osian stayed close behind Ian. He managed to peer between the gawkers and could only stare in shock. “Archie?”

“Oz?” Archie was kneeling on the floor, almost keening in grief, bent over a grey-haired woman prone on the ground. He leaned back to turn tear-filled eyes toward Osian. “Oz. Help her. Please?”

“Someone call 999.” Osian shoved his way through the gathered actors and stagehands. He dropped to his knees beside Archie, trying to assess the situation. “Hurry. Someone call 999. There’s not much time.”

Damn it all.

It’s already too late.

“I’ve got it.” Ian fumbled in his pocket for his phone. “Everyone make room. He’s a paramedic.”

Former paramedic.

We should’ve stayed at home.

“Does anyone know who she is?” Osian tried to delicately assess the health of the woman on the floor without moving her. He couldn’t see her face. His attention was focused on the scissors plunged into her back. “Archie?”

“My mum.”

And our morning was going so well.

Catch-up with the series

Cosplay Killer

London Podcast Mystery #1

Universal Link

Add to Goodreads

cosplay idea dev2

Blurb

Osian Garey and Dannel Ortea live together in a colourful flat in Covent Garden. They run a podcast and throw themselves wholeheartedly into Cosplay, video games, and musical theatre. This year, they’re all fired up to attend their annual convention with a group of first responders.

When Osian finds a paramedic friend murdered in the middle of the crowded venue, the police immediately turn their attention to him.

They have one question on their mind.

Is he the first witness on the scene or the killer?

As the mystery unfolds, Osian has to face the trauma of his last job as a paramedic. Somewhere in those memories, a killer waits to exact revenge. They’ll have to prove Osian’s innocence and fight for their own survival when the killer puts them both in their sights.

fullbiopicmay2017-e1599812352808

About the Author

Dahlia Donovan wrote her first romance series after a crazy dream about shifters and damsels in distress. She prefers irreverent humour and unconventional characters.

An autistic and occasional hermit, her life wouldn’t be complete without her husband and her massive collection of books and video games.

Social Media

Website: http://dahliadonovan.com

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1108750876162947/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/dahliadonovan

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DahliaDonovan

Book Bub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/dahlia-donovan

Newsletter sign up: http://eepurl.com/Q0n0X

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/8184061.Dahlia_Donovan

Publisher Website: https://www.hottreepublishing.com/book-author/dahlia-donovan/

Amazon: www.amazon.com/Dahlia-Donovan/e/B00KFNZFHU

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/dahliadonovanauthor/

Giveaway

To celebrate the release of Ghost Light Killer, Dahlila is giving away a $10 Amazon Gift Card

A Rafflecopter Giveaway

grr-tours-promo

IG Sized GLK Out Now

Release Blitz: Unspeakable Vice by Quinn Wilde

Unspeakable Vice | Quinn Wilde

banner

Release Date: July 21st 2021

Buy Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0994R734X

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/58534919-unspeakable-vice

unspeakablevicecover

Blurb

Oh, where could I put an errant decimal or two in Mr. Brodie?

Murder and blackmail at Oxford University, accompanied with some digestive biscuits, bread, butter, tea, and a dog who is not all he seems.

The year is 1895, and grossly indecent acts between men are illegal and punishable by two years’ hard labor.

Sebastian Pope is a student of the classics, a known gadabout and aesthete.

Andrew Brodie is a Scottish clerk, a respectable calculating machine.

The two men could not be more unalike. Yet when a wicked lord and circumstances throw them together, they find that they have one thing in common, namely the same unspeakable vice.

A diverse MM historical romance in the tradition of K. J. Charles and Cat Sebastian with Wildean flare.

quinnwilde

About The Author

If Oscar Wilde and Jane Austen had a literary brainchild, Quinn Wilde fancies they’d be the result. (With a side order of jazz hands.) Quinn writes diverse queer romance, with a focus on the 19th and early to mid-20th century.

Quinn is an unrepentant former theater kid, a lover of black coffee and dark chocolate, and has fallen in love with too many obscure British actors on blurry uploaded YouTube videos to name.

Quinn Wilde also writes as Mary Pagones.

Social Media

Twitter: https://twitter.com/marypagones

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pagones721

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Mary-Pagones-Author-106178421345656

insta

« Older Entries